Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Anybody see the GSA $5 gold coin on treasure Hunter?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to coin collecting and have a question. I was watching treasure hunter with Jimmy Gertsel last Friday and he had a coin on there which he said 5000 were just discovered, he said it was a GSA $5 gold coin and the dates were varied but were around 1879, They were also graded. He had 75 coins and was selling these for $599. Do you think that would have beed a good buy? Sure would seem to be with only 5000 coins?

Thank you,
Chuck.

Chuck,

Ever Onward

Comments

• Options
    They are worth around $175. ea. Seen a few around.. image
  • Options
    RichieURichRichieURich Posts: 8,389 ✭✭✭✭✭
    image to the Forums, Delorean!

I think you said the person on the show said there were 5,000 coins discovered. That doesn't cover how many are already in existence before the discovery. If there are a million coins already, discovering 5,000 doesn't constitute a discovery of something that is really rare. Now, if there are only 500 known and 5,000 are discovered, that's a different story entirely.

An authorized PCGS dealer, and a contributor to the Red Book.

• Options
    robertprrobertpr Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭

I think you said the person on the show said there were 5,000 coins discovered. That doesn't cover how many are already in existence before the discovery. If there are a million coins already, discovering 5,000 doesn't constitute a discovery of something that is really rare. Now, if there are only 500 known and 5,000 are discovered, that's a different story entirely.

Yeah, the first scenario is discovering 5000 worthless coins while the second scenario describes finding so many that the value instantly plummets. image
  • Options
    DUIGUYDUIGUY Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭
    GSA "discoveries" , just another marketing ploy IMHO !! Here is a letter I got from a dealer you might find of interest .