Who or what it coinbay.biz?
I received a solicitation regarding a forum at "coinbay.biz." The sender got my e-mail address from this forum. Anyone else get the solicitation or have information regarding it?
John
Keeper of the VAM Catalog • Professional Coin Imaging • Prime Number Set • World Coins in Early America • British Trade Dollars • Variety Attribution
Keeper of the VAM Catalog • Professional Coin Imaging • Prime Number Set • World Coins in Early America • British Trade Dollars • Variety Attribution
0
Comments
Jerry
coinpage.com
Doesn't look like a whole lot there yet. Maybe.............
Jerry
Go BIG or GO HOME. ©Bill
<< <i>Obviously our addresses were gotten from someplace in common with us all. >>
Hm, I wonder what we all have in common??? hhhmmm
Joe
siliconvalleycoins.com
Well I haven't gotten one yet so it may not be the forum.
*cough* messydesk, doranscoins, myqqy, ellewood, pontiaicinf, MadMarty, PhillyJoe, Conder101, Oldnewbie *cough*
OffMetal,
It's not necessairly the forum profile. The eMail address I have in mine is a spam trap where the mail vanishes in to nothingnes.
Russ, NCNE
OffMetal,
It's not necessairly the forum profile. The eMail address I have in mine is a spam trap where the mail vanishes in to nothingnes.
Russ, NCNE>>
I know
I just choose to have mine not shown
I've gotten it twice as well.
I get it again and this "Bob Martino" is going to get a phone call at the number listed in that spam.
The address I got it at is the one listed for my paypal and ebay.....
I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment
wondercoin, duffman,PiecesOfMe, Smittys, LogPotato, Bumanchu, Tydye, segoja, Harry779, FullCameo, Twosidestoeverycoin, jmdm1194, rkfish, drewsef, Chrischampeo, Kaelasdad, Ahrensdad, Dabigkahuna, Barbwire, sebrown, mkman123, Gerard
I think the email addresses are coming from here. I received two and both had the correct address but with some messes up capitalization indicating that someone probably hand-copied it from my profile, which would also explain why some of you have not received it yet. You either don't have a profile or he hasn't gotten to your profile yet.
The website is coming out of Broward County Florida. There is a # on the email. If you want to know what it is or how they got your email call it.
Tell us what they say (if anyone picks up the phone)
Buying top quality Seated Dimes in Gem BU and Proof.
Buying great coins - monster eye appeal only.
<< <i>email address came from PCGS who either sold the list or had it hacked. >>
That's a serious allegation. I'm sure you must have the proof to back it up. Right?
Russ, NCNE
<< <i>email address came from PCGS who either sold the list or had it hacked.
I'm not sure coinbiz would pay very much for email addresses that are available for free on a public forum.
Joe
The email addresses are coming from PCGS. Not the forum, but the Set Registry. PCGS has either sold the set reg. list, or it has been hacked.
I am certain of this because I have a very good friend that has a separate email address that he only uses for setregistry purposes. No email ever appears in this email account unless it is to/from PCGS set reg.
Until now, that is. He now has gotten several Coinbay spam letters. He is not very happy about it either!
edited to add:
The friend does not make his special email address public in his Registry sets. He uses the option to display his sets without an email address being displayed!
Something is seriously amiss here!
and they're cold.
I don't want nobody to shoot me in the foxhole."
Mary
Best Franklin Website
Keeper of the VAM Catalog • Professional Coin Imaging • Prime Number Set • World Coins in Early America • British Trade Dollars • Variety Attribution
<< <i>The e-mail addresses used are definitely from the profiles here. >>
Not in my case. The eMail address I have in my profile is dead unless I fire up the eMail server on the system where the site is hosted - which I never do.
Russ, NCNE
and they're cold.
I don't want nobody to shoot me in the foxhole."
Mary
Best Franklin Website
<< <i>I am certain of this because I have a very good friend that has a separate email address that he only uses for setregistry purposes. No email ever appears in this email account unless it is to/from PCGS set reg. >>
That doesn't mean it came from PCGS. ISP's also sell lists. If he's had any coin activity under another eMail address, it's simple enough matter for a list broker to correlate the two.
Russ, NCNE
and they're cold.
I don't want nobody to shoot me in the foxhole."
Mary
Best Franklin Website
It's not like he's hawking viagra, organ enlargement, get rich quick schemes, etc.
<< <i>With all the SPAM we get daily why pick on one guy who seems to be doing a good thing >>
Spam is spam, the source or intention is irrelevant.
Russ, NCNE
TD
<< <i>Sorry, but my email address is not listed on my profile, so, it DID NOT come from the forums. And as I said earlier, I got two of these so far. >>
When I registered, I had to give my info, and a day or so later, PCGS (Carol) e-mailed me with the info that I was activated - so my e-mail was given initially, even if it currently isn't in my profile.
"You Suck Award" - February, 2015
Discoverer of 1919 Mercury Dime DDO - FS-101
<< <i>The eMail address I have in mine is a spam trap where the mail vanishes in to nothingnes. >>
Hey Russ, I keep sending you emails and never get a response. Well maybe you don't hate me after all.
"You Suck Award" - February, 2015
Discoverer of 1919 Mercury Dime DDO - FS-101
Russ, NCNE
Urbid never really got off the ground, and I suspect this one won't either.
and they're cold.
I don't want nobody to shoot me in the foxhole."
Mary
Best Franklin Website
<< <i>I have gotten 2 of them so far. I'm waiting to see how they shake out... >>
I've gotten three. I don't like the format where you need to constantly scroll to read each auction item. That alone will keep me away.