OT: Is this a real PayPal email?
I find it hard to believe I'd be a targetted person, but eh... Anyone ever seen this?
We recently noticed more attempts to log in to your PayPal
account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons
to belive that your account was compromised by a third
party without your authorization.
If you recently accessed your account while traveling,
the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you.
However,if you are the account holder please verify that,
clicking on the link below,log in fill the form and then submit.
In this way we will verify your identity.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-identify
The log in attempt was made from:
IP address: 184.158.158.98
ISP host: 184.158.158.98
If you choose to ignore our request , your account will be suspended
until you will verify your identity.
We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be
investigated and we strongly recommend not to make any changes
to your account in that time.
If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account
holder, please be aware that it is in violation of PayPal policy
to represent yourself as another PayPal user. Such action may also
be in violation of local, national, and/or international law. PayPal
is committed to assist law enforcement with any inquires related to
attempts to misappropriate personal information with the intent to
commit fraud or theft. Information will be provided at the request of
law enforcement agencies to ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to
the full extent of the law.
*Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.
Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.
Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Team
-Daniel
We recently noticed more attempts to log in to your PayPal
account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons
to belive that your account was compromised by a third
party without your authorization.
If you recently accessed your account while traveling,
the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you.
However,if you are the account holder please verify that,
clicking on the link below,log in fill the form and then submit.
In this way we will verify your identity.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-identify
The log in attempt was made from:
IP address: 184.158.158.98
ISP host: 184.158.158.98
If you choose to ignore our request , your account will be suspended
until you will verify your identity.
We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be
investigated and we strongly recommend not to make any changes
to your account in that time.
If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account
holder, please be aware that it is in violation of PayPal policy
to represent yourself as another PayPal user. Such action may also
be in violation of local, national, and/or international law. PayPal
is committed to assist law enforcement with any inquires related to
attempts to misappropriate personal information with the intent to
commit fraud or theft. Information will be provided at the request of
law enforcement agencies to ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to
the full extent of the law.
*Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.
Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.
Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Team
-Daniel
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle
Dum loquimur fugerit invida aetas. Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
-Horace
-Aristotle
Dum loquimur fugerit invida aetas. Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
-Horace
0
Comments
Web: www.tonyharmer.org
-Daniel
-Aristotle
Dum loquimur fugerit invida aetas. Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
-Horace
If you get ANY email wanting you to click a link to do ANYTHING, it is fradulent. The ONLY way Paypal will ask you to do anything is to go directly to the site and open your account directly.
Forward anything of this nature to spoof@paypal.com, and they will email you back with a confirmation whether it has come from them or not.
Believe me, these people who try to capture ID info make their emails, supposedly from Ebay and Paypal, look/sound VERY convincing.
Here's a warning parable for coin collectors...
Apostle Saint Dennis
eMail
SmartEnterprises: The Phoenix!
Log on to: Church Of The Holy Ghost
Jerry
I sent it to eBay.
I seem to get at least a couple of them a month.
Ignore it or send it to ebay to investigate.
Edti - I meant paypal, not eBay. It's easy to get them confused anymore. The line between them is almost non-existant.
John Marnard Keynes, The Economic Consequences of the Peace, 1920, page 235ff
My motto is when in doubt...DON'T believe it.
If PayPal or eBay needs to get ahold of you they will identify you by name.
I received an email stating I opened a new account and listed automobiles on eBay.
I was to click on their link and log in if that was not the case.
Be very careful!
Apostle Saint Dennis
eMail
SmartEnterprises: The Phoenix!
Log on to: Church Of The Holy Ghost
Ebay will always address you by your user ID and will never ask you to "verify" by clicking on a link in the email.
As hard as it is to believe, estimates are 1-2% of people who receive theses spoofs fall for them.
Spoofers, virus writers, spammers, and slimeware writers are all evil and should be tarred and feathered then banished!
Apostle Saint Dennis
eMail
SmartEnterprises: The Phoenix!
Log on to: Church Of The Holy Ghost