Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newbie needs help

Newbie here.

I've been browsing this board for a few months, but never had the nerve to ask a question. But all of a sudden, I got brave.

Can anyone provide information on this coin. I assume it is from the civil war period.
It has a piece missing from it. After reading some of the comments on this board, I think the term is clipped????

Is there any value to this coin?

Thanks

Geod

Comments

• Options
    jharjhar Posts: 1,126
    First off, Welcome to the Forum. You should not worry about some of the old crusties around here and post more often.

Second Looks like some kind of Civil War Token. Don't know anything about it, that 's just a guess. I'm sure others here will chime in and tell you more about it.

Later
    J'har
  • Options
  • Options
    JrGMan2004JrGMan2004 Posts: 7,557
    Where's Bill Jones? He could tell you... and that looks like a clip to me...
    -George
    42/92
  • Options
    seanqseanq Posts: 8,596 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome aboard. It is a Civil War Token, I'll have to leave it to others to attribute it. It looks like it's in great shape, though.

What I can tell you is that the clip appears genuine (i.e. it was an incomplete planchet before striking, and not damaged after striking). Clips on CWTs aren't all that unusual, so any value for the piece will not come from it being an error.

Sean Reynolds
    Incomplete planchets wanted, especially Lincoln Cents & type coins.

"Keep in mind that most of what passes as numismatic information is no more than tested opinion at best, and marketing blather at worst. However, I try to choose my words carefully, since I know that you guys are always watching." - Joe O'Connor
  • Options
    coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,485
    Geod, how DARE you come here and ask questions like that?image