Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Old Japanese coin question

This is a Japanese 4 mon type 2 (I think) 11 waves from 1769 (possibly). I'm still learning about Japanese coins, so I am probably off on the date. It could be 1800's.

I got this in a lot of 170 old Japanese coins from......you know where....and I have started going thru them to try to ID them. Even got one of those old Oval coins which is really cool. I'll try to add that picture just for fun soon.

I noticed this one might have some obvious doubling or rotated die or some definition of error on the back. I'm not sure how Japanese coins were minted back then, but see the pictures and if you can give any comment, I'd appreciate it. Also, if anyone knows about how common or uncommon it is to have old Japanese coins with doubling or rotated die or whatever, please include what information you know about that too. image

imageimage

Comments

• sumnomsumnom Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭
    This is a question I have as well. I think these coins were cast and not struck. However, if that is the case, I do not know how they come to have this sort of doubling. I have some Korean cash coins with the same doubling. If this is not possible through the casting process, could they be struck counterfeits?

I don't know.

And, I am so jealous that you have a bag of these puppies to look through!
  • Yeah, 170 coins to look thru. why dont you come over and we'll have coffee and sort thru them. image

I thought they were cast also. I know they did cast coins for a long time, and that would prevent, I would imagine, this "doubling". I'm very curious as to how this could happen and if it's common.

If it's counterfeit...it's an old counterfeit and not something done recently. the state of the coin tells me it's not new, and looking under my loop...I can see obverse "errors" too. Like the mold or die was pretty worn out. The characters are pretty sharp on the obverse...i should add that too.....
    Coffee and coins? Great! I'm there!