Home U.S. Coin Forum

Fakes and Ebay

sellitstoresellitstore Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 3, 2024 5:58AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I know that this is a subject that has been discussed here before but I'd like to add my experience in the related area of paper money fakes. I've been reporting them sporadically for 20+ years now with mixed results.

Today I reported an obvious "parchment paper" fake and quickly received the below AI generated response. I find it very frustrating that this marketplace has not found an effective way of stopping the sale of obvious fakes. They seem to be better at pulling fake coins. Why is this? More reports from coin collectors? What do you think of AI making these calls and how does that work with coins?

**A decision was made on the listing you reported

Hello sellitstore,
Thanks again for reporting the listing(s) you found.

What happened:
We looked into your report and didn’t find the listing to be in violation of our policy. This determination was made using automation or artificial intelligence.

If you reported content that isn’t listed below, we’ll send a separate email once we’ve made a decision.

Your reference ID:
2-182188061332

Here are the listings you reported that are included in this decision:
Item: 226221474727 1780 State Of Rhode Island Three Dollar Note Hall and Sellers Rare Old HTF!

Thank you for being part of the eBay community.
Thanks,
eBay

Please don't reply to this message. It was sent from an address that doesn't accept incoming email.

eBay Document ID: 142936716000**

Collector and dealer in obsolete currency. Always buying all obsolete bank notes and scrip.

Comments

• tincuptincup Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 3, 2024 6:34AM