Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Just read that someone stole a gold nugget at the Long Beach Show

Comments

• Options
    BStrauss3BStrauss3 Posts: 3,270 ✭✭✭✭✭

@DCW said:
    You'd have to enter a structure Illegally with the purpose to commit theft. I dont think he'd ever be charged with burglary after paying admission to get into a coin. Even with the theft component.

It was explained in a context that I won't go into that sometimes your actions make a nominally legal entry illegal.

You go to a multi-tenant building (so the lobby and hallways are open to the public 24/7), go up to the 2nd floor, and check to see if there are open doors. Up until you tested that first door, you arguably were legally in the building. You have no business relationship, no appointment, no reason to enter that office...

But I'm not a lawyer and I wasn't asking for advice for myself.

-----Burton
    ANA 50 year/Life Member (now "Emeritus")
  • Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,423 ✭✭✭✭✭

@1madman said:

@MFeld said:

@1madman said:

@lermish said:
    This show has an ID check going in, and a camera along with armed guards at the entrance and throughout the show. Precautions were taken.

What good is the ID check if that process cannot solve this crime / immediately identify the thief? I still think it’s just a way to send me a mailer for upcoming shows and to sell my information to other coin companies. Just look at the Baltimore show and the heap of correspondence/spam you get from that “ID check” going in.

Smoke & mirrors security measures apparently don’t work. Pcgs or whoever is running this show and piecemealing security needs to step it up.

What effective, but practical solution do you advocate?

Security measures are not my forte, but there needs to be an action plan put together between the show and the security team so this does not happen again. What plan did heritage put in place when the purses got stolen in New York?