Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

90% silver math question

Dave99BDave99B Posts: 8,421 ✭✭✭✭✭

Team -

I’m going be shopping around some 90% silver this week. I have too much of the stuff! I’ve been accumulating avg circulated Mercury dimes for about ten years. I’ve got a few bags. I literally have no idea how many I have, but I can say that the two bags combined weight ~55 lbs. Before I call around, I’d like to get a rough estimate of the face value.

Anyone have a clue how I could estimate it, even within $100? If so, thanks! If not, feel free to make a wild guess. I’ll report back once it’s sold.

Thanks, Dave

Always looking for original, better date VF20-VF35 Barber quarters and halves, and a quality beer.

Comments

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,742 ✭✭✭✭✭

$1,000.

Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options

New silver dimes are 2.5 grams. A $1,000 bag has 10,000 dimes or 25 kilograms. The common rough conversion rate is 2.2 pounds per kilo. 25 x 2.2 =55 pounds.

Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options
    yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 28, 2024 9:52PM

$997.9 = 55 lb * 453.6 g/lb * (1/2.5 dimes/gram) * .10 dollars per dime

2.5 grams per dime is when they are new; a little less when worn, but maybe not too much less.

• Options

Now, if the coins are well worn the face value for that weight will be higher.

• Options
    rte592rte592 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭✭✭

2.5 grams less 4% loss for circulation.
    1 pound is 453.592 grams...189 dimes per pound x 55lb
    10,394 dimes.
    What's the prize for the closest guess?