Peace Dollar in type set?

Russell12Russell12 Posts: 203 ✭✭✭✭

Do i need both?
Type 1, High Relief (1921-1922)
Type 2, Low Relief (1922-1935)

Comments

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,563 ✭✭✭✭✭

If it’s your type set - it should be YOUR choice.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭✭✭

What kind of type set? An album? 7070? Slabs?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

For a “general design” type set, you only need one.

For “complete type set,” you need the 1921 high relief.

If you become obsessed, the number rays on the reverse on the reverse changed in the 1930s. I was that nuts for a while but got over it.

If you are that obsessed, you would need two Half Cents and a 1795-7 half cent. I have two of three, but I think I have completed my set.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • Options
    brianc1959brianc1959 Posts: 347 ✭✭✭✭✭

@BillJones said:

If you are that obsessed, you would need two Half Cents and a 1795-7 half cent. I have two of three, but I think I have completed my set.

Did you mean two 1794 half cents?

• Options
    Mr_SpudMr_Spud Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭✭✭

Both the 21 high relief and one low relief works for me. Here’s my silver dollar portion of my Type Set

Mr_Spud

• Options
    Russell12Russell12 Posts: 203 ✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:

It's a PCGS slabbed AU or better

• Options
    oldabeintxoldabeintx Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭✭✭