Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

[Grade Request] 1886 P Morgan Dollar

AlbumNerdAlbumNerd Posts: 147 ✭✭✭

Would love a grade estimate on this 1886 P Morgan Dollar!

I love its luster but I'm a novice at grading. An MS 64 goes for $100 while an MS 65 is $200. I'm hoping it would grade for 65 or higher to make it worth sending in. But I defer to the wisdom of the crowds.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    DelawareDoonsDelawareDoons Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭✭✭

MS64.

Professional Numismatist. "It's like God, Family, Country, except Sticker, Plastic, Coin."

• Options
    ProofCollectionProofCollection Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't see it getting 65. Looks 63/64 but it's tough from these pictures.

• Options
    MoparmonsterMoparmonster Posts: 158 ✭✭✭✭

Lighting is a bit harsh but I’d have to say 63 CAC or NGC 64 . But @DelawareDoons has me by 45 spots on the Mycollect leaderboard so there has to be something to be said about that lol!

But we’re both in agreement, it’s not a 5.

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,860 ✭✭✭✭✭

The rev looks close to a 65, but the obv is a bit too busy so I'm also at 64.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    spyglassdesignspyglassdesign Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭✭✭

Agree with the others... 64 at best on obverse. Reverse has a shot but don't see obv hitting gem. Lighting is a bit tough...

• Options
    logger7logger7 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭✭✭

It may be the pics where luster and surface quality is not clear to me; based on what I see, average Unc..

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,446 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is that a pair of die scratches on the Reverse between the n of (In) and the upper right wing or a die gouge? Don't recognize it as a VAM. Nice 64 and better photos might insure at least that grade.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln