Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Is this coin cleaned? -1856 type 3 gold dollar.

When I saw this I immediately thought cleaned, but again I’m not an expert on gold. What do you guys think?

And IkesT, please don’t reveal the eBay listing, I might be interested in this. ;)

Type collector, mainly into Seated. Young Numismatist. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON

Comments

• Options
    mark_dakmark_dak Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not opposed to looking past some issues with my gold but I agree with DD, I'd pass unless it's REAL cheap. I don't see much, if any, of the original luster on that one based on the picture. I bet a little patience will bring you a better example for not much more money.

Good luck on your decision.

Mark

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭✭✭

It looks wrong to me. I’ve seen enough type 3s that something looks off but I can’t pinpoint it exactly. Could be the photography. In any case it isn’t AU. Not close. I would pass.

• Options
    KliaoKliao Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭✭✭

Like above, I just don't like the look. It could be the picture but I would pass and look for a better example.

Young Numismatist/collector
    75 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 45 members and counting!
    instagram.com/klnumismatics

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,790 ✭✭✭✭✭

The look is enough to say pass, but those two very deep and heavy rim cuts on the rev scream stay away. Could be a buy at less than melt, but I doubt that is the case on ebay.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    Cougar1978Cougar1978 Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would not buy one raw. Many been cleaned.

So Cali Area - Coins & Currency
  • Options
    OwnerofawheatiehordeOwnerofawheatiehorde Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭✭✭

Thanks everybody, I guess my suspicions were right. :)