Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1888 Indian Head Damage in and around the 3rd 8. For discussion relative to PMD vs Mint Damage.

Damaged

1888 Indian Head Cent for discussion purposes.

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great pictures! 👍

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 948 ✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum

I am in the PMD camp. Whatever caused the gouge caused the damage to the 8.
    Any displacement of metal was worn down by circulation with the 8 being higher.

• Options

What about the 2-pronged tail showing up in 2 different places?
    Additionally, how does someone explain the foot like object showing up twice?

• Options
    IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Sberry002 said:

A pixie jumped on it (outside the Mint).

• Options
    RobertScotLoverRobertScotLover Posts: 732 ✭✭✭✭

P. M. D
    no matter how u look at it

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum and while I feel pmd as well, I do thank you for sharing.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options

What if the foot with the prongs fits into the bottom inner loop and its prongs.

• Options
    Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭✭✭

• Options
    FrazFraz Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome, please don’t eat the teachers. There’s a couple hundred years of experience informing you—however, you did write discussion in the title, and you’ll get a discussion.

@Emerald ATV—how about some illumination here?

Search a video that supports your suspicions,

Feet and prongs are body parts.

• Options

@Fraz said: