Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

GTG 1909-P VDB Doubled Die Obverse Lincoln Cent

PipestonePetePipestonePete Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just got the TrueView back on a 1909-P VDB Lincoln that I submitted. I was unaware that it was a Doubled Die! Care to guess what grade this cent received?

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,866 ✭✭✭✭✭

You say you were unaware of Doubled Die. Did you submit the coin under variety attribution?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    robecrobec Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options

I did not. I submitted it strictly for grading and encapsulation.

• Options
    WaterSportWaterSport Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭✭✭

MS 64 R&B.

WS

Proud recipient of the coveted PCGS Forum "You Suck" Award Thursday July 19, 2007 11:33 PM and December 30th, 2011 at 8:50 PM.
  • Options

@PipestonePete said:
    I did not. I submitted it strictly for grading and encapsulation.

So how and when did you discover it was doubled die?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options

When I received notification from PCGS that the grades were in. If there is an extra charge for that service I expect I will be invoiced for it.

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,335 ✭✭✭✭✭

63RB, congrats on the DDO
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options

@PipestonePete said:
    When I received notification from PCGS that the grades were in. If there is an extra charge for that service I expect I will be invoiced for it.

I wasn't aware they would attribute it, without it being requested on the submission form and paid for in advance.

• Options