Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Here's one for the Trade$ experts- what do you see...

burfle23burfle23 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭✭✭

Reportedly returned body-bagged and listed recently; listing was removed.

Do you agree counterfeit? Looking for a match for the mint mark.

Comments

• Options

Understood, but the mint mark placement should be correct for the date, shouldn't it?

• Options
    lermishlermish Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭✭✭

@burfle23 said:
    Understood, but the mint mark placement should be correct for the date, shouldn't it?

I am far from an expert, so please take this with a grain of salt. But the 75-CC had many reverse dies and the MM could certainly wander.

• Options

Thank you @lermish , I am not as well. There may be more reverses shown than reported for the type 1 reverse than indicated in Coin Facts:

• Options
    davewesendavewesen Posts: 5,869 ✭✭✭✭✭

are there any reeds on the edge or is it supposed to be broadstruck?

• Options
    OriginalDanOriginalDan Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

It's fake, like @crypto said it's not the worst we've seen but it's pretty bad.

• Options

@burfle23 said:
    Thank you @lermish , I am not as well. There may be more reverses shown than reported for the type 1 reverse than indicated in Coin Facts:

There are two designs but many dies (15ish I think?). The dies had a variety of different mint mark designs and locations.

etc

• Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭✭✭

@burfle23 said:

No. Counterfeiters often mix obverse and reverse transfer dies of different dates. Think fake 1916 SLQ with a type 2 reverse.

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    gonzergonzer Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭✭✭

Her thumb on the branch looks like a big toe.

• Options

@ChrisH821 said:

@burfle23 said:

No. Counterfeiters often mix obverse and reverse transfer dies of different dates. Think fake 1916 SLQ with a type 2 reverse.