Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I was "today years old" when I realized the peace dollar has a "V" in place of the "U!"

Sooo...in my message the other day about wanting to get a 1921 at FUN for my type set, I started researching the coin more and I am shocked to realize I never knew this! I saw one online and went "HUH?!" Of course after researching I see this is part of the design and that the "V" was for "Victory" as done by the designer. Super cool!

Anyone else on here not know this either? It isn't my series (OBVIOUSLY lol), but I figured think in the all the years in the hobby I would have realized this before hahah.

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭✭✭

@TheLiberator said:
    I was "today years old" when I realized the peace dollar has a "V" in place of the "U!"

I was what?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    oih82w8oih82w8 Posts: 11,917 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes, there were a couple of U.S. coins that had "V" in place of "U".

oih82w8 = Oh I Hate To Wait _defectus patientia_aka...Dr. Defecto - Curator of RMO's

BST transactions: dbldie55, jayPem, 78saen, UltraHighRelief, nibanny, liefgold, FallGuy, lkeigwin, mbogoman, Sandman70gt, keets, joeykoins, ianrussell (@GC), EagleEye, ThePennyLady, GRANDAM, Ilikecolor, Gluggo, okiedude, Voyageur, LJenkins11, fastfreddie, ms70, pursuitofliberty, ZoidMeister,Coin Finder, GotTheBug, edwardjulio, Coinnmore...
  • Options
    TheLiberatorTheLiberator Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭

@PipestonePete said:
    Here's hoping that that expression will stay in 2023 where it belongs.

DOH! lol. I was hoping to be one of the cool kids today hahahah!

• Options
    DCWDCW Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭✭✭

Ive never heard of the V meaning Victory, either. It's just an old way of spelling. As noted, usually on buildings and classical sculpture

Dead Cat Waltz Exonumia
    "Coin collecting for outcasts..."

• Options

@DCW said: