Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Inherited 1909-s VDB & 1914-D Lincolns

PipestonePetePipestonePete Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 12, 2023 3:35PM in U.S. Coin Forum

A friend called me today saying he had inherited some coins and asked if I would take a look at them. The bulk of the inheritance was blue Whitman folders with Lincolns, Jeffersons, and Indian Head nickels. There was also a Dansco Lincoln set that is probably 95% complete. The set included this 1909-S VDB and this 1914-D. I would appreciate any comments regarding the authenticity and condition of these two.

Comments

• Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,390 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks good to me.
    I'm looking forward to others weighing in.

peacockcoins

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is the center bar of the B slanted up?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    jacrispiesjacrispies Posts: 760 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'll take a conservative stab and say MS-64 for the 1909 and MS-62 for the 1914. Stunning quality on both coins.

"But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you" Matthew 6:33. Young fellow suffering from Bust Half fever.
    BHNC #AN-10
    JRCS #1606

• Options
    lsicalsica Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭✭

Yes yes yes as others have said here GET THEM CERTIFIED. And very nice coins!

Philately will get you nowhere....
  • Options
    TypekatTypekat Posts: 199 ✭✭✭

Good work on the pictures - and the coins look terrific!

My first thoughts are that the 1909s vdb is a nice original mint state coin,

And the 1914-d seems from the pictures to be an original AU coin, if not uncirculated. And the tiny amount of detritus it may have acquired over 100+ years looks quite natural and not a worry.

Quality stuff, thanks for sharing!

30+ years coin shop experience (ret.) Coins, bullion, currency, scrap & interesting folks. Loved every minute!