Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Anyone noticing quality issues?

I'm a big fan of PCGS' grading standard and their consistency throughout the years, but I've had 3, what I'd consider big issues, over the past month.

1. Two proof coins have been delivered back to me with fingerprints on the obverse of the coin.

2. True Views of my most recently graded batch are inaccurate to the in-hand look of the coin because brightness is to high.

3. Coins showed delivered but somehow were showing as a pickup, I had to call in and they were able to provide a tracking number.

Not trying to complain. More interested if this is across the board issues right now or if I'm the exception?

Let me know your thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭✭✭

@coinguy96 said:
    Anyone noticing quality issues?

All the time!

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,245 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 8, 2023 2:42PM

Those fingerprints are not new to my eye. Do you have pictures before you sent them in? Those look like toned over prints.

Wouldn't "delivered " vs "pickup" be a delivery service problem not a PCGS problem?

• Options
    rsei0120rsei0120 Posts: 127 ✭✭

I did not at first but since around March it seems to be a real problem, I know they hired a lot of new people, however with their standards and prices, they need to tighten the ship

• Options
    coinguy96coinguy96 Posts: 41 ✭✭✭

@jmlanzaf said:
    Those fingerprints are not new to my eye. Do you have pictures before you sent them in? Those look like toned over prints.

Wouldn't "delivered " vs "pickup" be a delivery service problem not a PCGS problem?