Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Need help with variety on a 1830 large cent.

I cannot find any pics or descriptions with the different varieties known.

Thank you, Heavenly Father, for first loving us.

Comments

• Options
    uscoinguyuscoinguy Posts: 150 ✭✭✭

Based on the descriptions in the Newcomb book it is N1/A1. I always start by looking at the 10th berry, which is the one by the A and M in America. But I am not an expert.

Always trying to learn more
  • Options
    lilolmelilolme Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not a series I know but looking at the forum Resources thread there is a link to a NNP book for 1816 - 1839 large cents.
    It looks like 1830 starts on page 177. Any good?
    There are also 3 updates listed 1825, 1839 and errata that I did not look at.

https://nnp.wustl.edu/library/book/530759

https://youtube.com/watch?v=2YNufnS_kf4 - Mama I'm coming home ...................................................................................................................................................................... RLJ 1958 - 2023

• Options
    RLSnapperRLSnapper Posts: 526 ✭✭✭✭✭

@uscoinguy I concur...N1A1...I always look for obvious die cracks...the one" from the rim near the first star through second to rim over third star" is a perfect match.

• Options
    0ronron0ronron Posts: 248 ✭✭✭

@uscoinguy said:
    Based on the descriptions in the Newcomb book it is N1/A1. I always start by looking at the 10th berry, which is the one by the A and M in America. But I am not an expert.

@lilolme said:
    Not a series I know but looking at the forum Resources thread there is a link to a NNP book for 1816 - 1839 large cents.
    It looks like 1830 starts on page 177. Any good?
    There are also 3 updates listed 1825, 1839 and errata that I did not look at.

https://nnp.wustl.edu/library/book/530759

@RLSnapper said: