Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Shillings By Monarch (Updated 6/16/2023)

ClioClio Posts: 484 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited June 16, 2023 5:15AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

I wanted to make a post about a set I've been working on and some comments on the progress so far.

I've been assembling for a few years now a set of shillings with 1 example for each monarch. I originally only planned to do milled but unlike other series the hammered examples don't go back terribly far. For the time being I am not getting a testoon or a commonwealth shilling. These are examples I could go into later but this set alone is a fairly substantial strain on my funds. My knowledge on these series can be limited as I am a type collector to start with. I suspect further down the road I will delve deeper into series but for now I usually go for the easiest type to find in high grade.

1549-1553 Edward VI

This past year I bid on two examples of Edward VI. I've looked at dozens, but I've tried to remain picky about the example I go for. The first I lost was one in an HA auction as I had to choose between two coins to commit funds to and I believe I picked the wrong one.

https://coins.ha.com/itm/great-britain/world-coins/great-britain-edward-vi-1547-1553-shilling-nd-1551-1553-ms61-ngc-/a/3099-31888.s?ic4=GalleryView-Thumbnail-071515

the second example I bid on was substantially lower grade but I thought I might make an exception for one with an interesting pedigree.

https://www.greatcollections.com/Coin/1245543/Great-Britain-ND-1551-53-Silver-Shilling-of-Edward-VI-S-2482-PCGS-XF-45-604gms-Ex-Archbishop-Sharp-Collection

So I've been left empty handed for the time being. I try to tell myself not to be in a rush and more will come but I do still get worked up over it.

1558-1602 Elizabeth I