Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Collecting Disney Coins - New collector

I am very new to collecting silver coins and I am a huge Disney fans so I was excited to learn that there are Disney silver coins to collect. I see where I can purchase current ones from Apmex of the NZ mint. But I have soured the internet and can find very little information about older coins (what is out there? and how to buy?). I see some on Ebay but I don't trust them. I've already bought one coin that turned out to be a fake. Can anyone point in the right direction for information about Disney silver coins and/or safe places to buy older ones? Thank you much in advance. Ed

Comments

• Options
    DeplorableDanDeplorableDan Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭✭✭

They are just silver bullion coins minted with Disney themes, you wont find info about older Disney coins because there aren't any. If these are the type of "coins" you desire, they can be bought on eBay around $40, if you're interested in paying 100% over spot value. I would avoid paying any type of numismatic premium for these types of bullion coins, unless you are determined to lose money.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Edfroncz... Welcome aboard. These are novelty silver tokens, not actual coins. You could check sites like Apmex, the Australian mint, Franklin mint. As advised above pay as close to silver spot as possible. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    JeffersonFrogJeffersonFrog Posts: 837 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the Boards. Your specific request is such a small niche, there are probably a good number of knowledgeable folks who don't consider them to be part of numismatics. The NZ Mint makes coins for the small island of Niue, and I'm pretty sure they've been minting Disney coins since 2014. Both NGC and PCGS will slab certain Nieu Disney coins. Buying slabbed coins from reputable sellers (like Apmex) is a good way to protect yourself against counterfeits.