Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

PSA football cards grading, humans and grading

chrislynn5chrislynn5 Posts: 39

I'm new to collecting but have been reading a lot. Last year back in August of 2020 I submitted my first batch of 85 cards to PSA for grading and they still aren't out yet.
I did submit this year in Feb 2021, an express order of 10 cards, I felt really were great cards and after over 2 months just got the grades.
Disappointed of course.
I measure the centering, reviewed the color and clarity, reviewed the corners under magnification and received much lower grades than what I've compared to published cards. I had pulled 10 great cards out a brand new never opened 1985 topps football box that were impeccable. The best one got only an 8. These cards had never been touched and by all comparisons were perfect.
The 1986 Jerry Rice that sold on eBay last week for $92k, was visibly off center. I submitted 3 that appeared better but got at best a 7.

Disappointed.
Once I get the cards back I'll post.

Comments

• JustacommemanJustacommeman Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭✭

Please do post them. Sorry for your disappointment. I felt your pain in your keystrokes

mark

Walker Proof Digital Album
    Fellas, leave the tight pants to the ladies. If I can count the coins in your pockets you better use them to call a tailor. Stay thirsty my friends......
  • nam812nam812 Posts: 10,531 ✭✭✭✭✭

The black borders on 1985 Topps football are very unforgiving just like 1971 Topps baseball. Not a good barometer at all.

• JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭✭

Post good scans, not low quality phone pictures, and we'll try to explain what the problems are.

As mentioned, those black bordered cards show the most microscopic wear, and are in my opinion graded unfairly.

But that's the way it is for several different years with colored borders.

2013,14 and 15 Certificate Award Winner Harmon Killebrew Master Set and Master Topps Set
  • Geoff76Geoff76 Posts: 149 ✭✭✭