Homeβ€Ί Precious Metals

Gold investing question

I'm new to investing in precious metals (not counting the 1 oz of silver I bought in the early 80's πŸ˜†). I want to invest $7000 in gold. Should I get American Eagles? Buffalos? New uncirculated? Also, a new 24k Buffalo prior is going to be released by the mint on the 13th. Would that be a good move?
Thanks for your help!

Best Answers

• TomBTomB Posts: 20,689 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer βœ“

Howdy and welcome.

I assume your $7,000 budget is something you don't critically need for anything else and that you might be treating precious metal (PM) purchases like you might treat other investments. If so, then what you have listed is generally considered bullion (uncirculated American Eagles or Buffaloes) and, as such, they carry a modest premium to spot. If we look at the one ounce pieces, in my experience the gold Buffalo carries a tiny bit higher premium upon both purchase and resale when compared to the American Eagle (uncirculated, bullion pieces for both types). In the not-so-distant past this premium was about $50 per ounce for the American Eagle and $75 per ounce for the Buffalo. These numbers might have changed.

Personally, I prefer the Buffalo design to the Eagle design and I think the US Mint might have been looking toward the global market with the Buffalo since it is 0.999 fine, if I recall correctly, while the Eagle is 0.927(?) fine. They both contain one ounce fine gold. You will no doubt get lots of feedback from others on the site.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,296 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer βœ“

@TomB said:
    Howdy and welcome.