Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Just bought a 1960 cameo Franklin half dollar

How can I tell if this coins contrast is solid for the pcgs cam designation. Reposting this as I add clearer pictures

Best Answers

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Coin photography, as has been demonstrated here many times, can be deceptive - not always intentionally. In your pictures, the obverse looks CAM, the reverse, less so. Again, it could be your picture/lighting. Certainly looks almost DCAM in the dealer pictures. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    robbylu52robbylu52 Posts: 287 ✭✭✭

Thanks for your feedback. Do you have a picture of a dcam Franklin you could post. What does ogp mean?

• Options

Thanks for the pictures nice coin

Answers

• Options

• Options

• Options

Would appreciate any collectors opinions as I am new to cameo Franklins

• Options

Also is it usual for cameo Franklins to come with clean unhazy un spotted fields

• Options
    hifisapihifisapi Posts: 42 ✭✭

is that a finger print on bens left cheek? Nice coin.

• Options

No finger print very clean clear fields

• Options
    yspsalesyspsales Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 10, 2021 3:21AM

CAM is tough for me.

DCAM is easy.

I got a couple CAM Roosevelt dimes and Jeff Nickels, that I missed at first glance. The larger coin certainly helps.

I would buy a typical proof just for handy comparison.

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• Options

Can any other collectors please tell me if the coin is solid or high for the pcgs grade?

• Options

Can anybody post pictures of their deep cameo Franklins?

• Options

This is what the coin looked like on the dealers website

• Options

• Options

• Options

I still am very happy with the coin I bought but thought it was going to look almost dcam from these pictures

• Options

Coin photography tricky lol

• Options
    JimnightJimnight Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice coin!