Home Metal Detecting

A bit of help needed to identify use and/or period

ExbritExbrit Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a bit new to metal detecting and am working some old sites. This one is a house built in 1900, there may have been another dwelling on the land before that starting around 1750. This item is very heavy and I believe not that old - looks machined. Im just not sure what it would be used for and am thinking its from the 1950s or a bit earlier. I found it about five to six inches deep.
Could it have been used as a hoist of some kind? the end has a link that looks like it is a joiner. just guesses on my part. Any assistance will be appreciated.

Comments

• Bayard1908Bayard1908 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭✭

Might be horse tack

• ExbritExbrit Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭✭

@Bayard1908 said:
    Might be horse tack

Thanks for the suggestion, but I cannot see it as a horse tack -- much too heavy. The width of the ring and links are almost an inch.

• Might be a log chain

• 1630Boston1630Boston Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Ron1968 said:
    Might be a log chain

Successful transactions with : MICHAELDIXON, Manorcourtman, Bochiman, bolivarshagnasty, AUandAG, onlyroosies, chumley, Weiss, jdimmick, BAJJERFAN, gene1978, TJM965, Smittys, GRANDAM, JTHawaii, mainejoe, softparade, derryb

Bad transactions with : nobody to date

Very possible thank you.

• Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭✭✭

Everything heavy was dragged with a chain. In order to reveal hand forged joint seams, you should consider cleaning by electrolysis. Then a bath in paraffin. IMO. Peace Roy

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52

@Namvet69 said: