Home Metal Detecting

What’s a good metal detector for a newbie looking for coins & nuggets?

Hey guys I’ve never used a metal detector before except as a kid with my uncle but lately I’ve been reading articles about people who have found all kinds of crazy stuff, from a Roman denarius, to a gold nugget, and even a Greek drachma, and I’ve been thinking about going metal detecting just for fun if the cost allows it.

So yeah, what’s a good model of metal detector in say a $200 budget range.

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Look at the selection at Garrett's....Remember, you will also need a pinpointer and digging tool (Lesche makes a great tool). Recommended - knee pads, apron with pockets, two water bottles (one for drinking, one for washing finds)....That should get you started... Good luck.. Cheers, RickO

• Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good morning. I've been detecting for 30 years. It is a physically involved hobby. Kneeling, digging, up and down, so there's that. Garrett makes good entry level units in their Ace detectors. The quality of the unit is important and $200 is the bare minimum IMO. If winter is in play for you, save some more until the spring thaw cause $300-400 is better. You're gonna want a pinpointer too, if you're serious. Peace Roy

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52

• Gam3rBlakeGam3rBlake Posts: 165 ✭✭✭

@Namvet69 said: