Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Guidance Needed

Hi everyone. I did not see a place to make an introduction post so this will be it. I collected cards from 1974-1983 as a kid and newly minted teenager. I traded my gum for cards and took very good care of them. They went from wax to put away under my bed in a box. As I got older I built sets. I left the hobby in 1994.

Fast forward to now and I have cards that are the same as when they came out of wax. So, where do I begin? I looked them over and while most are not PSA 8, 9 10. Sharp corners, clean bright surface but with the usual off center images. They are still rock solid cards and some I want to get graded. I only want to keep PSA 8,9, 10 for my collection.

So, the advice I am seeking:

Should I get cards of HoF rookies graded even though it might be a 7?
Not get it graded and just sell for a fair price?

As an example I have 1984 Topps Elway cards. Sharp corners, nice surface, but OC. About 65/45.

I am new to PSA collecting and appreciate any feedback.

Thank you for your time.

I have made the search function my friend.

Comments

• Options
    bobbybakerivbobbybakeriv Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭✭

Welcome. I would search the web or Ebay to see what some of the cards you are interested in having graded are going for currently. You will likely be able to find a PSA 7 Elway rookie easily. Then, you can make a solid determination whether it is worth having graded to you.

• Options
    LarkinCollectorLarkinCollector Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Desertdoc said:
    Hi everyone. I did not see a place to make an introduction post so this will be it. I collected cards from 1974-1983 as a kid and newly minted teenager. I traded my gum for cards and took very good care of them. They went from wax to put away under my bed in a box. As I got older I built sets. I left the hobby in 1994.

First, welcome and thanks for the intro!