Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Scans of more of my OCD Player collection projects (Reggie added)

rexvosrexvos Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭✭✭

My player collections almost always have a tie to my youth. When I was a kid in Ruston, LA one of my best friends dad was an assistant coach for the La Tech Dunkin Dawgs., their star player was Karl Malone When I was in 5th grade he came to our class and spoke and I had several small interactions with him through my friend. He was my favorite player of course for that reason. I started working on a basic Fleer set of him this year, like most of these projects Rookies are easier it is tough to find already graded copies of PSA 10 mid to late years and even raw that have a shot at 10s. This is what I have mustered so far. Several self subs.

The next project I have been working on for about 5 years now maybe longer. One of ,myfavorite players as a kid and this project is much broader. It started with just Topps and Fleer. Then Donruss then Basic set. Very hard to track down 10s I do not have and I have several 8-9s I need to upgrade. Have not put much of a dent in this for over a year now. Current progress

Looking for FB HOF Rookies

Comments

• countdouglascountdouglas Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great seeing all of the Strawberry cards together! The card companies loved to pick photos highlighting the cocked knee at the beginning of his stride, for sure... Or the completion of that sweet swing. Strawberry was always one of the favorites of my youth.

• Kid4hof03Kid4hof03 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭✭✭

I love the Strawberry collection! I still collect his cards, but ungraded.

I'm not a Malone fan, but putting together his Fleer player set was a great idea.

Collecting anything and everything relating to Roger Staubach
  • DBesse27DBesse27 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭✭✭

Wow Mike, I’ve seen parts of your Straw collection but didn’t realize how many you had!

Yaz Master Set
    #1 Gino Cappelletti master set
    #1 John Hannah master set