Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I bought a raw Trade$ on eBay..(well actually it's a Potty dollar..) is it real?

jayPemjayPem Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 18, 2020 9:28AM in U.S. Coin Forum

The obverse has "issues" but can you tell if it's genuine from just the reverse?
(..btw year is 1875)

Comments

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’m no expert but I’d say counterfeit. It just feels wrong to me but trade dollars are not my area of specialty.

• Options
    Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,682 ✭✭✭✭✭

Can we see the obv? Peace Roy

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52, LukeMarshall

• Options
    TennesseeDaveTennesseeDave Posts: 4,743 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 16, 2020 3:50PM

I'm thinking genuine, but with issues.

Trade $'s
  • Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭✭

There is something about the surfaces that seems off to me, but I know very little of the series so it could be me that's off.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    NumisOxideNumisOxide Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like porous surfaces to me. Environmental damaged. Still looks weird though. Not sure if its genuine.

• Options
    Jinx86Jinx86 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭✭✭

opium dollar?

• Options
    kazkaz Posts: 9,069 ✭✭✭✭✭

I really can't tell from the photos if it's genuine. If it is, a 75 cc type 2 rev is a scarce coin. Here is mine for comparison:

• Options
    lkeigwinlkeigwin Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭✭

I usually figure raw T$'s are fake until proven genuine. And I wonder why genuine ones aren't slabbed, given all the fakes out there.