Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Possible counterfeit Indian Head $2.5 US Gold Coins

hi there to all, i'm new to all of this, and have been amazed at the amount of counterfeit stuff out there, so thankful for PCGS, and paypal 6 month money back policy, LOL...

but would love some people's opinions on these coins i recently got...i wish the pics were better quality, i'm sure some won't suffice, but I figured it's worth a shot...they'll all get sent to PCGS for grading regardless!

Thanks in advance for any contribution to this discussion, counterfeit detection is a new obsession of mine, especially when it comes to US gold coins!!!

Comments

• Options
    scubafuelscubafuel Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭✭✭

If it's fake it seems like a good one to me. What do you see that hints at counterfeit? I'd like to learn as well.

• Options
    davewesendavewesen Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the boards. The gold dollars and quarter eagles were heavily counterfeited because the premium over melt at the time. Good ones are difficult to determine by pictures. The TPGs know die polish lines, die cracks and other characteristics that they use to determine authenticity. I hope things go well with your submission.

• Options

@scubafuel said:
    If it's fake it seems like a good one to me. What do you see that hints at counterfeit? I'd like to learn as well.

thanks for you response, i'm just skeptical about everything now that i know there are sooooo many fakes! apparently there is a tool mark or imperfection that gets made in the dead center of the obverse side of the coin, but there is also a depression on the coin there too, so it's hard to tell if the depression i'm seeing on the 1926 coin is normal, or the dreaded mark i'm trying to avoid....lol...

• Options

@davewesen said: