Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

The 1917 Matte Proof Lincoln: Fact or Fiction?

Comments

• Options
    koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭

I believe that in recent years many of his opinions have been found to be inaccurate. If I remember correctly some of the "matte proof" 1917 cents were determined not to be that at all. Though I'm no expert on these things, I believe I would discount any 1917 proof coins that were certified to be such by Mr Breen. I would send such coins, with said documentation, to any (or all) of the top four certification companies.

• Options
    rmpsrpmsrmpsrpms Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

The problem here is that the coin is not available for examination. I'd bet there are dozens of folks on this forum (myself included) who could tell if the coin were a MP within 5 minutes of examination.

PM me for coin photography equipment, or visit my website:

http://macrocoins.com
  • Options

There must be at least a couple of people here on the boards that are well versed in matte proof coinage.

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

@koynekwest said:
    I believe that in recent years many of his opinions have been found to be inaccurate. If I remember correctly some of the "matte proof" 1917 cents were determined not to be that at all. Though I'm no expert on these things, I believe I would discount any 1917 proof coins that were certified to be such by Mr Breen. I would send such coins, with said documentation, to any (or all) of the top four certification companies.

That is the point I'm making. Nevertheless, back then he WAS one of the go-to numismatists.

• Options
    IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭✭✭

@koynekwest said:

Wasn't it Breen who wrote that there were 1956-D to 1964-D Type B quarters? As far as I'm aware, that was completely made up - there were no purported specimens, to begin with. Seems like he was a very unsavory character, all around.

• Options
    ZoinsZoins Posts: 34,077 ✭✭✭✭✭