Home U.S. Coin Forum

Have slabs ever been pressure tested?

topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just curious if any independent tests have ever been done on the various slabs.
There's a watch that will go VERY deep without leak but I don't think they'd need to go to that extreme.
https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/omega-seamaster-planet-ocean-ultra-deep-professional-deepest-diving-watch

It could be interesting,

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 16, 2019 8:45AM

@topstuf... I may be behind on this information, but last information I saw, was that the slabs were not hermetically sealed...that may have changed, but I do not recall any information to the contrary. I worked in the semiconductor packaging industry for a couple of years...and hermetic sealing was quite critical and continuously tested...these slabs would surely not pass those tests.
    Cheers, RickO

• morgandollar1878morgandollar1878 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭✭✭

The new slightly thicker generation of PCGS slabs are air tight. The older slabs are not.

Instagram: nomad_numismatics
  • Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 16, 2019 9:22AM

Only the TPGS know the answer because anyone else who knows is probably not going to say.

Up until 15 years ago, I could reply with certainty (I saw the experiment) that all slabs could be "gassed." Since then, I believe that many of the slab designs and materials have been improved.

It would be interesting to take some slabs down into the ocean on a submersible and film the descent. We need to find out what would happen when the coastline of CA falls into the sea. :(

• amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭

SEGS did a very involved test on the TPG slabs. SEGS was the only slab to be even close to air tight.

@amwldcoin said:
    SEGS did a very involved test on the TPG slabs. SEGS was the only slab to be even close to air tight.

The date of the test is important.

• amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭