Home U.S. Coin Forum

1952-D Lincoln Cent: doubling on obverse?

MiBellitaMiBellita Posts: 45 ✭✭
edited June 9, 2019 2:41AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Hello Everyone-
I'm fairly new to collecting coins, this is my first post on here! I've become very interested in errors, especially on wheat pennies but I haven't had much luck so far. Usually what I think is an error turns out to be just normal wear or something minor. I came across this little guy not long ago and I figured it would be a good choice for my first post. I would love to hear what you all think about this one! The thing I love most about this hobby is that there's always something new to learn!

Comments

• HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum @MiBellita.

What error(s) do you see on the cent?

Or retitle your thread, “Guess the Error I Think I have.”

Everyone here loves to help, but you’ll lose them quick with this type of error guessing “game.”

• MiBellitaMiBellita Posts: 45 ✭✭

@Hemispherical thank you for the heads up! I've never actually posted on forums before, I just read a lot of them 😅
    My initial thought was that that date and m.m. seemed doubled or repunched.. or maybe it just got smashed down 🤷‍♀️
    And also Liberty looked doubled as well, but I'm not right about that..

• HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭

List of know RPMs for 52-D. There are quite a few of them.

http://varietyvista.com/02a LC RPMs Vol 1/RPMs 1952D.htm

There are two known DDOs.

http://varietyvista.com/01a LC Doubled Dies Vol 1/DDO 1952-D.htm

Homework and tell us what you think you have and why (what matches).

——-

Also, your pics are reversed for what you are asking about, i.e, all your questions are on the obverse but you show a close-up of the reverse.

Enjoy and have fun in the hobby!

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very good pictures.... Another well circulated cent... Cheers, RickO

• BuffaloIronTailBuffaloIronTail Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭✭✭