Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A Christmas Challenge (Completed! Vesta McCurry's WW1 love token is going home!)

lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,216 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 23, 2018 4:29PM in U.S. Coin Forum

So, how many of you were around for Operation Stone Holey ten years ago, when I sent two of our Florida members off on a harebrained live treasure hunt (actually a wild goose chase, as it turned out), to find a piece of Yap stone money that had once been partially buried in my grandmother's yard?

Who's sufficiently bored or enthusiastic enough to help me with another crazy quest? This one can be done in cyberspace, though we're looking for a person this time. There is still a coin involved.

You see, I am looking for a living descendant of a person who once owned a love token I have. It would be really cool to give one of those descendants a Christmas surprise, in the form of the coin their grandparent or great-grandparent once owned. IF such a descendant can be found.

What's in it for you, my super-sleuth friends? Why, the chance to become part of the story, of course! :)

Forgive me for not posting the story in this thread. This current CU forum software and I have never gotten along.

With apologies, I will direct you to the full story on CoinTalk, to save myself the hassle of trying to repost it all here. Don't worry, though, I think it's a pretty good read, though not everyone will agree.

Maybe you can help me track down the person we need to give this coin to.

Edit- a descendant has been found and contacted! Yay!

Happy Holidays!

~RWS/"LM"

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.

Comments

• Options
    thisistheshowthisistheshow Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great stuff as always, thanks for sharing!

• Options
    yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 22, 2018 3:00PM

OBITUARIES