Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

Buyers pay more fees: Heritage email on honoring State Sales tax

I received an email stating Heritage auctions will be changing their policy on State sales taxes and by the next auction (which I already have bids on) then I must pay those to my State even though Heritage has no presence in my State.

Did anyone get the same?
Anyone else considering getting a PO Box in sales tax free places, like Oregon...

Thank you

Comments

• goldengolden Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭✭✭

I got the same message. I was going to bid on a note in the next sale. When I figured the minimum bid plus the buyers fee plus the sales tax it is more than the note is worth. Even if I get a dealer to bid and then ship to me it is very ,very marginal. I will pass. :'(

• synchrsynchr Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭✭

I have been bidding with them for almost 20 years and over that time the fees have really started to add up ...

• tomtomtomtomtomtomtomtom Posts: 535 ✭✭✭✭

"Please note: As of September 1st, Heritage Auctions will be required by state law to charge applicable sales tax on any items delivered to addresses in Massachusetts for the following categories: Art & Antiques, Coins (for purchases less than $1,000), Comics, Currency, Entertainment, Historical, Jewelry, Timepieces & Luxury Accessories, Movie Posters, and Sports."

In Mass, as long as you spend more $1000...no sales tax...guess I'll have to just buy more!

• 2ndCharter2ndCharter Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭✭✭

Did not receive a letter because currency and coins are exempt from sales tax in South Carolina so, for me, full speed ahead on bidding!

Member ANA, SPMC, SCNA, FUN, CONECA