Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

1898 NewFoundland 50c - What do you guys think?

CRH4LIFECRH4LIFE Posts: 849 ✭✭✭✭
edited September 1, 2018 9:18AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

In a segs holder. Larry Briggs? I am not yet able to identify the 3 varietys for this. Small "W" or large "W" obverse 1,2,3. There also seems to be maybe some die gouge of the sort going on. Any of you familiar with these?

Comments

• CRH4LIFECRH4LIFE Posts: 849 ✭✭✭✭

Will be listed on BST forum when I am able to figure out exactly whats going on btw if anyone has interest

Bump

• Timbuk3Timbuk3 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

Cool !!! B)

Timbuk3
  • Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2, 2018 5:50AM

I'm away from my books. Aside from the obverse bust #, I see nothing unusual on your coin. Repunched letters are common on coins from the "north." It looks more like a die break w/die chips to me. As I recall, (I've seen the variety before but I'm not a Canadian expert) the "Large W" was something I needed a comparison piece for. You should be able to find something on the WWW. You may have one. In which case, the doubled letters and chips will be a diagnostic for each of us to use for future determinations.

Depending on the coins value "in grade," it looks like VF-20 is a fair commercial grade by US standards.
    I prefer Fine-18 if there were such a thing.

• YQQYQQ Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2, 2018 7:26AM

Your coin is the following
    SW (small W) if it were a LW there would be a considerable distance between the letters E+F
    E W F. Yours is EWF.
    You have a Obv 2 portrait.
    There are 4 leaves on top of the laurel crown.
    OBV1 has the top most leaf portruding between the letters E+I in DEI.
    OBV 2 has NO letter portuding into between E+I
    Everything else is not much relevant IMO.
    the doubling may be interesting for a variety collector but carries no bonus , or if it does, it is very little IMO.
    There were 79607 minted.