Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

1685 Leopold Kreuzer

I was looking for information on this, was not able to find a link within HA:

Comments

• TwoKopeikiTwoKopeiki Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'll leave it up to the experts, but it doesn't look authentic to me.

• WeissWeiss Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭✭✭

My thoughts as well. I'm not an expert, but it looks very questionable.

We are like children who look at print and see a serpent in the last letter but one, and a sword in the last.
    --Severian the Lame
  • logger7logger7 Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭✭✭

A foreign and ancients dealer emailed he was 90% it was good but needed to see the edge.

• bronzematbronzemat Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 21, 2017 5:09PM

I have one, the coin is real. They used rolled dies to make them. They're fairly common. Not worth too much.

edited November 24, 2017 9:46AM

@bronzemat said:
    I have one, the coin is real. They used rolled dies to make them. They're fairly common. Not worth too much.

What's the price guide listing on these?

About what you paid on ebay. And that coin is about VF to EF.

• BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

When they used roller dies, did the new coin have luster like a traditionally die struck/ or hammered coin? Or was the luster to a greater or lesser extent (I would think that it would not be greater, but had to ask)?

Thanks!

edited November 24, 2017 9:45AM

@bronzemat said:
    About what you paid on ebay. And that coin is about VF to EF.

Are there online guides on how these get graded?

Age has no correlation to actual condition and should have no impact on grading standards.

But hey, this is an expensive hobby - you pay for your practical education and you pay for your jollies.

edited November 24, 2017 9:46AM

@BillDugan1959 said:
    Age has no correlation to actual condition and should have no impact on grading standards.

But hey, this is an expensive hobby - you pay for your practical education and you pay for your jollies.