Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Roosie OBR Rolls - What To Do?

Like many, as a young person in the sixties I collected 20th century silver & Buffs. For the past 20 years I have been a gold guy, until I sold my 6 figure collection a few years ago. I am left with a few odds and ends remaining. One of the coolest is (4) "MS65 BU" bank wrapped rolls of 1950's Roosies. I bought them in the late 70's from Bowers & Ruddy Galleries (got them directly in their LA showroom), still have the Bowers "MS65 BU" labels on them. Since then, they have been in storage.

I knew scarcer dates (no FB terminology back then). Seems like I have some rolls with individual coin "potential" (FB, higher grade, varieties), yet they're cool in roll form. At the FB level, Coin Facts shows I have some of the rarer issues (55-P #1 of 48; 53-S #5 of 48; 54-S #7 TIE of 48, 54-P #23). I have no Roosie knowledge like some here do!

I can see end coins, other than that I've never opened the rolls ... they have just sat around for 40 years. I'm going to sell these in the next month, but I am interested in ideas, particularly from Roosie people. What would you do / how would you do it?

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,540 ✭✭✭✭✭

Waste of time to break them out and get graded......Small premium over melt on those rolls. Grading cost eats up any profit and graded might only be $10-15 once done. Sell and move on. Leave as is and maybe you will get two bidders that really want them on ebay.
    bob :)

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    Type2Type2 Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 29, 2018 1:28PM

Hard one but I would look at them. See what you have before you sell you never know just pull the nicest ones then look them over again, then send them in.

You may find some winners that will pay for the whole roll if you would have sold it off but you will never know. You can always sell off the rest for UNC coins or silver and make that money back.