Home Precious Metals
Options

gold eagle premiums

I'm new to purchasing gold eagles and I'm curious why the premium on < 1oz eagles are so much higher than 1oz eagles? Looks like its around 10-15% over spot for 1/4s, 7-10% on 1/2s, and around 5% on 1oz. Being new, one would think the percentage premium would be close to the same on bullion gold through the line. Obviously I know the more weight you buy the less of a premium you pay but 10-15% seems really high. Why would anyone want to buy something that has to appreciate 15% before breaking even? I'm sure there is a logical explanation but i'm curious.

Comments

• Options
    BAJJERFANBAJJERFAN Posts: 30,992 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 27, 2017 10:41AM

Well, first off the Mint charges a FLAT RATE premium to its Authorized Purchasers for AGEs and ASEs. The premium is intended to cover ALL costs from purchase of the planchets to striking the coins. Costs such as advertising are included. The premium for 1 ounce AGEs is 3% over spot,; 1/2 ounce is 5% over; 1/4 ounce is 7% over and 1/10 ounce is 9% over. With the 1/10 ouncers they obviously have to handle way more coins than for the other denominations. The APs in turn add their own premium to cover costs and make a profit. Dealers who buy from APs to sell to the public likewise add their own premium/markup; hence the 15% over spot that you sometimes see. If you buy a 1 ounce AGE from some of the bigger places at their "normal" $70 over spot pricing, then you will need a $70 move in spot price just to break even. The market being very competitive, you will be hard pressed to resell your AGE at anything close to $70 over. You pretty much have to be competitive with the big boys on price. Further, they can offer a measure of "peace of mind" when shipping because they can provide insurance way cheaper than you or I can.