Home Precious Metals

If Bitcoin had a Bitcoin sibling born on the same day...

MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 23,892 ✭✭✭✭✭

...one exactly like it the Bitcoin we know, and another cryptocurrency backed by gold and not "minted" by computers, which one would have been the better investment?

Andy Lustig

Doggedly collecting coins of the Central American Republic.

Visit the Society of US Pattern Collectors at USPatterns.com.

Comments

• mvs7mvs7 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭✭✭

My snap answer: the one whose price is currently higher. :D Seriously, though, if you don’t have physical possession, what’s the difference? Which one had better marketing?

I have a math degree, so the whole basis for “minting” bitcoin makes a reasonable amount of sense, but I bet for the layman it would be easier to get their head around the twin backed by gold, so I’ll answer your question with the bitcoin backed by gold.

• PokermandudePokermandude Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

Please explain how there could possibly be a gold backed crypto currency.

http://stores.ebay.ca/Mattscoin - Canadian coins, World Coins, Silver, Gold, Coin lots, Modern Mint Products & Collections
  • LukeMarshallLukeMarshall Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 18, 2017 4:34AM

@Pokermandude said:
    Please explain how there could possibly be a gold backed crypto currency.

Check this out, https://tether.to

It's my understanding that these "Tethers" or USD₮ are digital tokens that are pegged to the value of a Dollar.

I think this concept could possibly be done for gold stored in a vault.

1 digital token, let's call it 1AU, that is created for each oz of gold in the vault.

The use of the blockchain as a ledger (one of its intended purposes) would offer a way that users can view & audit all gold stored in said vault.

It's all about what the people want...

• cohodkcohodk Posts: 18,553 ✭✭✭✭✭

If folks wanted gold, wouldn't gold be higher now already?

Excuses are tools of the ignorant

Knowledge is the enemy of fear