Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Converting my Dad's legacy into box of 20 pieces

YorkshiremanYorkshireman Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited October 25, 2017 12:30PM in U.S. Coin Forum

My late father left me several dozen rolls of Red BU Lincoln cents , mostly 1959-1963, with a few 1955's.
I don't collect cents.
My hope was to get enough graded as MS 66 reds or better and generate enough cash to buy a few significant classic coins. I want to leave them as his gift to my sons.
Every time i sit down to pull out some for possible grading, I Get overwhelmed because I am not good at it.

I am more than willing to share the proceeds with someone who can help, but couldn't find anyone.
Is that an unreasonable hope?
I just can't bring myself to sell them for roll bid knowing there must be some good ones there.

Thoughts and suggestions would be most appreciated!!

Yorkshireman,Obsessed collector of round, metallic pieces of history.Hunting for Latin American colonial portraits plus cool US & British coins.

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,732 ✭✭✭✭✭

This might read as a bit harsh, but the way I see it there are two really good pathways for this endeavor.

The first is to exhaust your homework options. Put in the time and effort in order to grade these with accuracy and precision yourself (likely a tall task) or find out who the red copper gurus are (this really ins't that difficult a task) and approach them with an offer or suite of options. These options don't pose a large barrier to entry so I would assume they might be obtainable.

The other option is extremely simple, straightforward and economical. Send them in as a bulk submission with a minimum grade requirement and you will pay a reduced fee and only receive coins back at your magic grade or higher.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    messydeskmessydesk Posts: 19,703 ✭✭✭✭✭