Home U.S. Coin Forum

Buying coins from the public through CL or Ads?

logger7logger7 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have had some experience buying from the public through Craigslist and local ads. From Craigslist I got a hustler type guy (among others) who got offers from a major in state dealer and then looked for my offers, so I had a professional's offers
to work from, I probably paid the guy too much, thousands of dollars much of it cash for
a collection he got as part of a CA friend's father that he helped out. Also on a local
ad I got a call from one of the CT governor's lawyers (as he identified himself) who didn't want to meet at
Starbucks, he didn't feel safe. So we met at the firehouse in Riverside; he changed the
terms of what he wanted for his collection; he had said his wife just wanted him to get rid of the collectibles, and wanted only cash. I felt hustled. Buying ideally is for experienced people, ideally teams of confidants IMO.

Is there a successful way to buy if you don't have a store? Run an ad and then offer to buy in an open gallery area at the local library, screening out unrealistic sellers?

Comments

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,536 ✭✭✭✭✭

If you do not feel comfortable with any, thats ANY, seller, walk away. You lost nothing if you walk.

bob :)

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • 291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,936 ✭✭✭✭✭

I tried that many years ago and found it to be a big mistake. The sellers were often rather strange, usually wanted to much and often tried to force items into the sale I had no interest in. I stopped doing it after a short while and am glad I did so.

All glory is fleeting.
  • amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭