Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

225th Anniversary Enhanced "ERROR" Kennedy - Has anyone else found one?

RB1026RB1026 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭✭
edited August 10, 2017 3:45PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I just rec'd my order today for (5) more sets (bringing the total I've personally reviewed to 9 sets) and this Kennedy jumped out at me. There is a line that extends from Kennedy's ear out into the field nearly to the "Y" in his name. It is obvious to the naked eye. Under magnification, you can see slightly raised metal which is covered in the same satiny frost as the rest of the coin. I am not an expert on errors, but I presume this must be a scratch on the die that caused this? In any event, it looks cool. Of the nine total Kennedys from this issue I have studied, this is the only one that exhibits this. I'd be very interested to hear if anyone else discovers other examples. My pics were shot with my iPhone, so they aren't the greatest. They do however, give you an idea of what I'm seeing. ( as an aside, the quality of these five sets was generally much better than the previous four I had received)

Comments

• Options
    BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 10, 2017 3:50PM

• Options

@BillDugan1959 said:
    Super poor word choice in title.

No offense intended to you or anyone else BillDugan1959. It is a reference to the only other coin I can think of with a line like this.... the Sacagawea "Wounded" Eagle reverse dollar. Obviously, since Kennedy was assassinated, it was an unintended reference in poor taste. I've edited the title. Thank you for pointing out my mistake which was made in haste.

• Options
    jessewvujessewvu Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like lost mint damage. Maybe they used it to prop up a chair

• Options

@jessewvu said:
    Looks like lost mint damage. Maybe they used it to prop up a chair

LOL. Wouldn't surprise me considering how they run the operation over there.