Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Has anyone seen this 1652 contemporary counterfeit before?

Comments

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 31, 2017 9:35AM

IMHO, It is not contemporary. An image of the edge may hold a clue.

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭✭

It seems to have a raised rim, which I am not sure is accurate (I am no expert on these). What makes you think it is a contemporary counterfeit? It is in great condition and does not look like it was a coin that circulated much, It is far more likely to be a later copy than a contemporary counterfeit, so I am curious as to that determination.

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,486 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don’t think that is a contemporary counterfeit; it’s too well made. The contemporary counterfeit Pine Tree Shillings I’ve seen were really crude. It’s probably of a 1930s to 1960s vintage copy. There were a lot of them made during that period.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • Options
    EXOJUNKIEEXOJUNKIE Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭✭✭

I agree that it is circa mid-20th century. I like it though!

I'm addicted to exonumia ... it is numismatic crack!

ANA LM

USAF Retired — 34 years of active military service! 🇺🇸
  • Options
    gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

It may well be a copy but still gorgeous.

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭✭

No-way, no-how is that contemporary.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,945 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not contemporary ... as others have said. It just does not look like something from the colonies in the 1650s.

All glory is fleeting.