Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Can you recommend some modern key World Coins?

Hey guys,

I'm still new to Dark side coins. I've been learning from you all, from Cabalitos to Sun-face coins.

I don't know if I'm defining "modern", correctly, but (to me) a modern coin is one from the 1970's or later. I'm wondering if you all can make some recommendations for interesting modern keys. I'm talking about actual coins here, (vs. rounds). What are some cool looking modern key coins that I can consider for my collection? Ideally, something that I can buy before it becomes unobtainable price-wise. Perhaps something like a dramatic, well publicized error coin similar to our 1955 doubled die cent? Or are the modern coins so over-collected that they are all affordable? Right now, the only thing I can think of is coins from small African countries.

Any recommendations? And if you own them, can you post a picture?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

Really enjoying collecting coins and currency again

My currency "Box of Ten" Thread: https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/1045579/my-likely-slow-to-develop-box-of-ten#latest

Comments

• Options
    gscoinsgscoins Posts: 288 ✭✭✭

While they are expensive, the 1989 British sovereign anniversary coins (1/2 pound, 1 pound, 2 pound and 5 pound) gold coins are, in my opinion, flat-out gorgeous. Here are (I hope!) some links to pictures. They do cost more than comparable British mint products with the same quantity of gold, but their recent retail pricing has been strong. I should add that I do not own any...can't afford them!

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi4tNv9kcPUAhXGeT4KHTtCDigQjRwIBw&url=https://taxfreegold.co.uk/1989halfsovereigns.php&psig=AFQjCNE46Rl316RG_OAjAQD4VuQBPsKvtg&ust=1497729138092138