Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Question about the premium on a coin like the Silver Eagle

I'm not sure if I'm asking this in the right way to get the answer I'm looking for since I'm brand new to coin collecting (truth be told I'm not even an actual collector yet) but hopefully I am.

I have noticed that a Silver Eagle costs a few dollars more than a random 1 oz. bar of silver due to it's collectibility and the US Mint charging above spot for it to dealers.

Is that premium affected by the spot price of silver or does it largely remain static over long periods of time (assuming the Mint doesn't raise their prices and adjusting for inflation)?

For instance if the current premium for a 2017 Silver Eagle is $3 over a $17 spot price (random numbers) and silver suddenly shoots up to $47/oz would I still only pay $50 for a Silver Eagle?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    neildrobertsonneildrobertson Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 30, 2017 1:20PM

I've noticed the premium on silver eagles actually go down as the silver price has gone down over time. The current premium seems pretty stable and has been stable for a while.

There is a general trend I've noticed that the premium on silver tends to increase as silver is dropping because people are reluctant to take a loss and that the premium decreases as prices are increasing for the opposite reason.

Silver Eagles are a bullion that seems to most closely follow ideal supply demand trends. You can regularly buy ASEs at 2-3 dollars over spot from dealers and easily sell at 1-2 dollars over spot in private party transactions. The spread is pretty tight because there are always lots of people buying and selling.

This behavior may not last forever. ASEs are pretty unlikely to be melted since they sell at a higher premium than other bullion. Long term pricing will have more to do with how demand for ASEs will increase as the total supply increases over time.

IG: DeCourcyCoinsEbay: neilrobertson