Home U.S. Coin Forum

hard to find modern day coins

newbie here again. still waiting to hear from any one about hard to find US coins from 1980-2017. not as in expensive, but difficult or challenging to obtain. i like a good challenge. thank you for your response.

Comments

• LindeDadLindeDad Posts: 18,766 ✭✭✭✭✭

Most are listed on eBay by now.

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭✭

many millions of coins made in those years. So, unless you are looking for errors or varities you won't find hard to find coins.
    bob

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • thevolcanogodthevolcanogod Posts: 270 ✭✭✭

Cherrios Dollar
    Sac Goodacre Type 1

Probably some rarer DDOs or DDRs

• unclebobunclebob Posts: 433 ✭✭✭
    edited May 28, 2017 5:13AM

Wide and Close AM Lincolns found it pocket change.

My best pick was a 1999 Wide AM and flipped for $90 raw on Ebay.

I've made some goood money searching Mint and Proof sets for various varieties.

Best Pick was a 1998 Wide AM Lincoln... flipped set for $200 raw

Cheap fun and a heck of a cherry picking treasure hunt is to pick up both editions of the Cherry Pickers guide.

Bury yourself in Ebay and have at it.

Picked five rare VAM's last year... two mint state unattributed in PCGS holders and flipped for over $3000. Still have one. None of them cost more than $200 with grading fees and attribution cost. In fact the fees cost more than the coins.

After a certain trial period of inevitable mistakes you will learn enough to be dangerous.

Alot of great designs can be had for those on a tight budget.

1938d Buffalo Nickels are the bane of the series, but wonderful examples can be had for $40 in MS66 and MS65. Got TPG MS64, MS65, and MS66 this week off ebay. Learning the series and chasing and making a five figure MS68 example is my pot of gold at the end of the Rainbow.

There are Hard Times Token, political tokens, and Olympic, regional and World Exposition avenues you can take.

Good Luck