Home Metal Detecting
Options

1797 Cent find - what would you do with it?

MaineJimMaineJim Posts: 740 ✭✭✭✭✭

I was searching in my backyard the other day when this one popped out of the ground. I am fairly new at this and this is my first old copper. It is pretty beat up so I thought it might be worth trying to clean it a bit. Any recommendations on what to do with it?
Thanks,
Jim

Comments

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

DO NOT CLEAN IT!!!!!!! That is imperative.... You can rinse it under hot water to remove the dirt, but do not rub it with anything - not even your fingers. That is a great coin and you should get it appraised. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    WhiteTornadoWhiteTornado Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭

Great find! I echo what @ricko says, do not clean it except for a gentle water rinsing. Air dry or a VERY gentle pat dry with a soft cloth or paper towel. Might be worth sending it in for certification.

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭✭

The above.......

bob :):o

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    basetsbbasetsb Posts: 508 ✭✭✭✭

DO NOT CLEAN

@basetsb_coins on Instagram

• Options
    1630Boston1630Boston Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭✭

Woe, nice find :smile:

Successful transactions with : MICHAELDIXON, Manorcourtman, Bochiman, bolivarshagnasty, AUandAG, onlyroosies, chumley, Weiss, jdimmick, BAJJERFAN, gene1978, TJM965, Smittys, GRANDAM, JTHawaii, mainejoe, softparade, derryb

Bad transactions with : nobody to date

• Options

PS
    Mind if I dig in your backyard? :smile:

Successful transactions with : MICHAELDIXON, Manorcourtman, Bochiman, bolivarshagnasty, AUandAG, onlyroosies, chumley, Weiss, jdimmick, BAJJERFAN, gene1978, TJM965, Smittys, GRANDAM, JTHawaii, mainejoe, softparade, derryb

• Options
    johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 27,505 ✭✭✭✭✭

wow, i like the looks of that.

• Options
    pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭✭