Home Metal Detecting
Options

NEED ADVICE FOR MY NEW GARRETT AT PRO

I recently purchased a new AT PRO. I've read the instruction manual and watched 7 AT Pro Instructional Videos on YouTube. I guess I'd have to say I'm a novice. I use to metal detect years ago and am just getting back into the hobby.

When using my AT PRO, I have it set on STD / ZERO and have the IRON DISC set at 35. I also perform a manual ground balance when I get started. My problem is that while operating the detector I almost constantly get intermittent hits (anywhere from 45 - 90) when nothing is actually there. Once I get the hit, I run the detector over that same area and get no feedback. While watching the instructional videos, the detector doesn't act as sporadically as what I am experiencing. So, what am I doing wrong? Or, any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks.... Patrick

Comments

• Options
    1630Boston1630Boston Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can't help with that but I'm sure someone here will and I will listen for future reference. :smile:

Successful transactions with : MICHAELDIXON, Manorcourtman, Bochiman, bolivarshagnasty, AUandAG, onlyroosies, chumley, Weiss, jdimmick, BAJJERFAN, gene1978, TJM965, Smittys, GRANDAM, JTHawaii, mainejoe, softparade, derryb

Bad transactions with : nobody to date

• Options
    basetsbbasetsb Posts: 508 ✭✭✭✭

Do you wear steel toed boots?

@basetsb_coins on Instagram

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

Garrett has an 800 number, give them a call.

bob:)

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    CoinGuy42CoinGuy42 Posts: 307 ✭✭✭

basetsb, I was not wearing steel toed boots. AUandAG - Thanks, will give toll free number a call.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭