Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Information on 1822 bust dime requested

stmanstman Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭✭

Always wanted one of these tough key dates. Got my humble example some time ago. I have read reported mintages, and known survivors. But also read they might not be correct. Even at half the mintage, still seems like a lot for being called a key. Perhaps survivors are rare? I never do see many at all through the years. If you have one please feel free to post it.

Please... Save The Stories, Just Answer My Questions, And Tell Me How Much!!!!!

Comments

• Options

Anybody?

• Options
    logger7logger7 Posts: 8,079 ✭✭✭✭✭

Both PCGS and NGC have certified populations. Unfortunately if they don't straight grade they don't get into the population figures usually unless an outside group does it.

• Options
    yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here's a start - the basic online sources. I'm not an expert in this series, so I can't help beyond this.

"Ron Guth:
    The 1822 Dime is a very popular date because of its small mintage. However, this date is even rarer than its small mintage figure suggests because other dates (such as 1809 and 1811) have smaller mintages, yet collectors do not consider those dates as valuable as the 1822. A quick peek into the PCGS Population Report shows that PCGS has certified fewer 1822 Dimes than any other date in the series. In Mint State, no other Capped Bust Dime date is as rare as the 1822.
    Only one die variety (JR-1) comprises the entire Dime output of 1822.
    As already stated, Mint State 1822 Dimes are very rare, though they cover a range from MS62 to MS66.
    The best example is the PCGS MS66 from the D. Brent Pogue Collection."
    pcgscoinfacts.com/Coin/Detail/4497

"Premium Gem 1822 Capped Bust Dime
    Scarce Issue, JR-1
    Tied for Finest Certified