Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Questions: Morgan Grading/Storing raw coins/pictures/VAM

dmwestdmwest Posts: 947 ✭✭✭✭

Okay, once again I'm new to this hobby and I will probably be posting questions as I read more, which means I probably understand less. :)

Morgan Grading:
Earlier advice to wait until I get my first batch of coins back from grading before submitting additional coins I get, but I was wondering if there are just certain Morgans that you should always have graded? CC's and the other key dates or is it just only about quality of the coin? Also, does PCGS normally run coin grading specials like this quarter where grade 4 get 1 graded free?

Coin Storage:
I have only 1 coin graded so its the only one slabbed. What do you use to hold coins to keep them safe and easy to handle if they haven't been graded?

Pictures:
I've quickly seen how bad pictures of coins can be. I've also seen when the pictures are decent/good there can be consensus from members about grading, which I think is cool, especially if I'm looking for help deciding on coins to grade. :) Does anyone have a good setup they recommend for taking coin pictures? I have a high end digital camera, but what I've seen is mostly about lighting when there are issues. Also, I like the PCGS Trueview, but I would think I'd only want that if the coin graded high enough...when do you decide to use that service? when you feel your coin is MS65 or higher?

VAM!
What the VAM? There are so many variations, which ones do you worry about, if at all, in getting PCGS to verify when grading? Just curious when folks decide to add this service and if it really helps when selling or is it just for your own collection.

Don't quote me on that.

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,730 ✭✭✭✭✭

1) The PCGS grading specials change, which means you may find better ones in the future or may find ones that do not apply to you at all.